HEARING GOD’S VOICE

“And, behold, the LORD passed by …….  but the LORD was not in the wind: and after the wind an earthquake; but the LORD was not in the earthquake:  And after the earthquake a fire; but the LORD was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice. ”   Kings 19:11-12 (KJV) 

In early 1992,while praying in the chapel and on the verge of dozing off, i was shaken awake with these words imprinted in my mind: “In God, we…(pause)…abandon…(pause)…ourselves.”  They were clear but mysterious words.  Some days later, while meditating in a church, i was once again shaken by the following words: “There is strength in His Love. Every nail… “

That was the beginning of my relationship with the Lord. He actually speaks!  In the stillness, His is a small gentle voice that continually encourages, comforts and sometimes admonishes me, yet He becomes silent when i am angry or stray far away from Him. 

Dear Lord,

Do not walk behind me, i know not where to go,

Do not walk ahead of me, i may not follow,

But walk beside me, hold my hand tightly, and lead me where you want me to go.  Amen.             By R

Leave a Reply

