Leaf

“It was good for me to be afflicted so that I might learn your decrees.” Ps 119:71 (NIV)

[Photograph by B, 15th Sept 2014]
[Photograph by B, 16th Sept 2014]
While praying the Rosary with my wife at the grotto this morning, I was attracted to a leaf which had holes bitten through it from big to small.  How did this happen?  Did caterpillars of different sizes share the same leaf?  Did an insect munch through the leaf while it was still curled up?

While these logical questions ran through my mind, what really amazed me was that this leaf had many shades of colours while the rest were just plain green. And the colour variations happened precisely due to the holes.

My life too, was like those leaves that remained green and nothing but the same green.  Simply following the tide and enjoying what life had to offer.  However, my Creator had sent a worm, like the one mentioned in Jonah 4:7, munching away my comfort and my pride.  This left me with holes all over, big and small.  Yet I believe, with His grace, I will be decorated with many shades of colours.  Starting with the holes, of course.                                                 By B

Leave a Reply

