FRUIT OF THE SPIRIT – GOODNESS

Dear friend, do not imitate what is evil but what is good. Anyone who does what is good is from God. Anyone who does what is evil has not seen God.  3 John 1.11 (NIV)

[Painted by R, July 2013. Photo by B]
[Painted by R]
The starfruit or carambola has a distinct star shape. Its taste varies from very sour when green, to tart and sweet when ripe. It was also one of the fruits I found difficult to depict because of its rough translucent waxy surface. 

I recall when I was young I used to visit my grandma at her old house, with a garden of tropical fruit trees – rambutan, durian, jackfruit etc. I was fascinated by her starfruit tree where she tied small paper bags around the young fruits to protect them from pests. The star shape of the fruit reminded me of the star-stickers I would get in school whenever I scored full marks. No prize for guessing why I had to include them in my choice of Fruits of the Spirit.

I like the following verse which srongly convinces me why Goodness is so important…     By R

A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.  Matt 6:45 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

