Finally… THE FRUITS OF THE SPIRIT

The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. Now those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit.  Gal 5:22-23  (NASB)

The final painting.  Thanks to the Holy Spirit!

It took me a month, from practice and more practice, to the completion of the final painting.

Sadly, the final completion also coincided with the lowest period, the most devastating and painful time of my life – the discovery of my husband’s infidelity. Overnight, my whole world collapsed. It was like being overwhelmed and buried under an avalanche, where you groped and searched desperately but you just couldn’t see the light. The husband, whom I loved so much, and the father, whom the children were so proud of, was not what he appeared to be. It was so heartbreaking and painful for the children and for me. If not for God’s timely and unexpected intervention and His grace, our family would inevitably have broken up.

After years of marriage, serving as a couple in various ministries of the church, praying the Bible together nightly as a family, going to church together, a loving close-knitted family…  Why Lord???

My faith in God and my belief in the sacrament of marriage were put to the test. It brought out the worst in me which didn’t surface before, and which I never knew existed, until this trial… I had none of the fruits of the Spirit in me.

I am learning to let go and let God be God in my life. Truly, to err is human but to forgive is divine… because it is a gift from God.  

On the other hand, if the marital crisis had not happened, this blog wouldn’t be here now…..So, to praise and thank the Lord that the family is still together, I wish to share with you this song…

Thank you, Lord,
for the trials that come my way.
In that way I can grow each day
as I let you lead,
And thank you, Lord,
for the patience those trials bring.
In that process of growing,
I can learn to care.

But it goes against the way
I am to put my human nature down
and let the Spirit take control of all I do.

‘Cause when those trials come,
my human nature shouts the thing to do;
and God’s soft prompting 
can be easily ignored…

One thought on “Finally… THE FRUITS OF THE SPIRIT

  1. The pain of abuse and/or infidelity is devastating. I’ve known only one couple who survived it early on in their marriage. Pray to God and poor out your heart to Him always. He asks us to do this in everything.

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

