WINE, WOMEN, SONG ….

While we were praying at a grotto of Mary yesterday, my wife spotted this dragonfly rested very near to us.  It’s a beautiful creature and stayed still while I took pictures of it.  Dragonfly naiad spend 5 year in water but only 5 months out in the air, in the form we commonly see.  And they have only one purpose to metamorphose into adults : to find a spouse and give life to the next generation. An instinct place into them by The Creator, and they are very focus on their mission in life.

[Photograph by B, 9th Nov 2014]
[Photograph by B, 9th Nov 2014]
Reflecting on a small insect like this dragonfly sometimes lead me to shame and depression. For I lived foolishly for many years, many golden years spent without true purpose that God intended it to be.  I pursued what this earthly materialistic world has to offer, wasting my time, money, energy literally on wine, women and song.  For if the amount of energy I spent, both mental and physical, on my latest  6 months adultery affair were to use it on my family, my wife and children would certainly be the happiest people on earth.  Anyway, I will discuss this more in future posts.

The devil is clever to promise us that we will live forever on this earth through science, through health supplements, through physical exercise, through proper diet, through plastic surgery, through Henna.

“But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’” Lk 12:20 (NIV)

It is precisely we think tomorrow will be ours no matter what, when we open our eyes in the morning that wisdom has passed us by.   Now, every night, as I examine my conscience, I count God’s blessing through forgiveness from my wife and children.  I’m reminded that life is short and unpredictable and I hope I will gain a little wisdom, day by day.              By B

Leave a Reply

