Horses’ mouth …

Now if we put the bits into the horses’ mouths so that they will obey us, we direct their entire body as well.  (James 3:3 NASB)

The tongue is such a small part of our body, yet it controls our whole body!

Many years ago, a dear friend from our prayer group entered the Carmelite Convent, known for its prayer, austerity and its silence. Before she left, she gave me a book  “Does your tongue need healing?” by Derek Prince. To confess, i had left it on the book shelf till recently, inspired by the Spirit, i picked it up to read. And when i read James 3:3-10, i was so appalled by these words:

But no one can tame the tongue; it is a restless evil and full of deadly poison.  With it we bless our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in the likeness of God; from the same mouth come both blessing and cursing.  (NASB)

Though i may not have uttered curses intentionally, but in my frustrations, sadness, bitterness or anger, justifiable or not, i have regrettably spoken harsh words to others or upon myself. I had not realised how much impact my words can have on my own life and on others around me.  How could i with the same mouth say i love God and yet use it to criticise, put others or myself down?

I am trying to be more aware not only of my spoken words but also my written words, and apply Eph 4:29-32 in my life.        By R

Leave a Reply

