PEACE I give unto you …

A God moment. A consolation. When one least expects it.  This happened a few days ago in the kitchen, while washing dishes at the sink. Suddenly, i felt His gentle breeze blowing, a caress against my face, then an inexplicable peace descended upon me, a quiet joy that seemed to transcend everything else around me. It felt too good to share with anyone, to disrupt that heavenly feeling, wishing for it to last forever. Alas, it lasted a mere minute or so before it dissipated and reality set in.

I haven’t felt His peace and consolation for a long time since our marital woes. It seems as if God has abandoned me, but i know He is always there beside me. If i suffer, how much more HE has suffered. If i feel abandoned, how much more HE has been rejected.

When i rediscovered my passion for art to learn watercolor painting 3 years ago, i was brimming with zeal to paint for the Love of God, asking Him to paint with me and through me. Not once did it ever cross my mind that my passion could just vanish, under my emotional turmoil and spiritual upheaval. Perhaps it is like how one can lose sleep and appetite over broken relationships. I paint through the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, so i suppose when i am spiritually down, my passion for painting took a corresponding nosedive too.

In WordPress blogs, i have been greatly inspired by all these artists who persevere in their commitment to paint, daily, despite the odds. (Thank you to YOU who inspire me!) Yesterday, when i went to see an art exhibition, and stood there for an hour and a half watching two artists demonstrating watercolor painting, I couldn’t help but felt wistful.

It’s been almost six months since i last picked up the brush. This morning, i prayed that if it is HIS will, the Lord will renew in me that passion, courage and perseverance to paint for Him again.       By R

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.  John 14:27 (NIV)

12 thoughts on “PEACE I give unto you …

  1. I like your posting on peace. With the renewing of the mind, all things become new past and present. He alone will lead you into each new day. God bless your marriage. Praynman…

    godselfie posted: “A God moment. A consolation. When one least expects it. This happened a few days ago in the kitchen, while washing dishes at the sink. Suddenly, i felt His gentle breeze blowing, a caress against my face, then an inexplicable peace descended upon me, a q”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is a beautiful story I can relate to stopping painting as I did oil paintings several years ago then stopped when “life intervened.” ( ie full time teaching; worked on my Master’s degree in education, etc…I tell my self someday I will start it up again.Check my blog for examples of some of my work. I love florals and seascapes.

    Like

  3. Perhaps the plan for you is the quality, not the quantity. Didn’t Donatello paint only about 5-6 paintings? I may be mistaken, but a couple of those were very famous…

    ~Steve

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I forgot to mention…God does give us His peace, and His promise that He will never leave us, nor forsake us, (Heb. 13:5). Trust in Him, but I believe you already know to do that.

    ~Steve, (again)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Steve for your encouragement! My hope in painting is to share with others the joy and inspiration I find in God’s creations, and that others may be inspired too. Yes, only God can give us the peace that this world cannot give. Thanks again Steve! God bless you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You keep painting as you “feel it” out there and let us not worry about mass production!

        Thank you so much for your support and comments. BTW, love the blog’s name…”God’s selfie.” Very well chosen!!

        ~Steve

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

