Lost in the Masquerade …

Chameleon-mask-JesusThe chameleon is aptly given a Chinese name 变色龙 meaning colour changing dragon for the ability to camouflage itself with the surroundings.  When I was young, I used to think that they were poisonous so I stayed away. Later, however, when I realized that they were harmless, I liked to tease them.  It was impossible chasing them on trees, but once they landed on flat ground, I would chase them till they ran out of steam and couldn’t even run when they were caught.
Looking at this photo, it reminds me of myself.  We have so much in common.  The truth is, ironically,  I value little in truthfulness since I was young. White lies, half truths, blatant lies, whatever you call it, I know how to use them to keep myself from being spotted, just like the chameleon. 

There were so many masks I had put on throughout my life.  I appeared to be a good husband and father at home, an efficient worker in the office, a holy Christian in the church, a filial son to my parents, a loyal friend to friends.  And in the process, I had lost myself. 

But God has waited, and in His time and in His mercy, He has made me land flat on the ground.  He has cornered me till I have run out of steam.  He wants to peel off all my pretentious masks.  Now, in silent solitude, at soul-searching times, I still have difficulty finding the real me.  After years of color changing, it’s unnatural to be a shade of monochrome, but I have to persevere with God’s grace.  For Jesus had insisted: “All you need say is ‘Yes’ if you mean yes, ‘No’ if you mean no; anything more than this comes from the evil one.”   Matt 5:37  (JB)         By B

Leave a Reply

