The unfinished painting

The watercolour palette has been left to idle for six months. The paint has dried up. The painting unfinished. Picking up the brushes after six months is no easy task. Where should i start? How do i begin?

I have soaked and cleaned the palette.  I’ve also set up a table in our bedroom for  art. We have hardly any space in our two-bedroom flat to find a quiet little corner.  I’ve read on someone’s blog that it is helpful to maintain an art corner, easily accessible when inspiration comes.

For two years, i did my paintings on the dining table. Or on a portable easel, which i placed in our bedroom after flipping up the floor mattress, and using a small children’s table for my art stuff.  Nevertheless, i was happy whenever i found the time to paint every now and then; when it was quiet, when the chores were done and everyone was out. That’s me in a nutshell – the silence gives me inspiration.

Will i still be able to paint? The panic button kicks in. I have my doubts. I have not touched or drawn anything for six months. It’s like picking up watercolour all over again; it’s the same feeling i had when i took a two month break in 2013. But i know i must start somewhere.

God has a sense of humour. I kept seeing articles of art on newspaper. He also led me to art demonstrations. Even a variety show which we frequently watched as a family had references to art three times.

This morning, our daughter NAGGED again, “mum, i’ve already finished writing my novel, when are you going to start your painting?!”  She had been affected by our marital woes and had also lost her inspiration to write for a while. She is good in art too, but has found greater passion in writing. (Yes, she’s our in-house editor, and a very critical one at that.)

Perhaps i should stop writing now and start to paint too. Perhaps, like the cyclist who never forgets how to cycle, or the swimmer who never forgets how to swim, i too may not have forgotten.        By R

And this is my prayer:

A pure heart create for me, O God,

put a steadfast spirit withing me.

Do not cast me away from your presence,

nor deprive me of your Holy Spirit.   

Psalm 51:10-11   (JB)

6 thoughts on “The unfinished painting

    1. Hi! i am re-sending you this reply in case you missed it. It is a message to you from my heart, and it’s even more wonderful to find a friend from Singapore:

      Thank you for your encouragement and support. You’re one of those bloggers i referred to in my post, Peace i give unto you, who truly inspire me by your commitment and perseverance. Thank you so much. God bless you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

