My Devotion … My Prayer

Ever since I stopped working seven months ago, I’ve started to notice small things and events at home.  One of the interesting things is this tiny yellow sunbird that comes around eight every morning to our yellow-bell plant, drinking nectar and complimenting it in its own language – “sweet, sweet, sweet”.  Hearing it never fails to cheer us up.  The bird will fly away when it is done, but it will come back the next morning at the same time.

I’ve come to realised that our lives are mainly made up of routines.  Many things we do are repetitive.  Things like brushing teeth, flipping to the same section of the newspapers, driving along the same route to work and so on, are practically engraved within our subconscious mind.  We say the same things repeatedly too. My mum used to nag me day and night and now our children are privileged with daily naggings from my wife and I.  Although we like to say that our God is a God Who is full of surprises; in reality, we are the ones who lack the awareness of His omnipresence and grace.  And suddenly when we are conscious of it, we are surprised by what He is doing for us.  Hence, to me, God is a constant and all His acts are repetitive – just like the way the sun rises and sets, just like the seasons come and go.

Many years ago, I used to pray the Rosary fervently and there were many miracles we have witnessed in our lives that were attributed to this special devotion. When praying the Rosary, the repetition of words can calm and prepare my soul to contemplate the life of Jesus and transform me into His likeness.  But when I cease praying or simply rattle off the words without meditation, I quickly fell into the pit of sin and shame.

In retrospect, I would have been a permanent resident of satan’s dungeon if not for the fact that my wife’s devotion to her daily Rosary prayer saved me.  Now as I see my mother-in-law, who is not educated, praying the Rosary in the church, I can see the wisdom of  this special devotion.  How the learned who can preach the Bible may not necessarily be nearer to the Kingdom of God, than this persistent widow who knocks on the Heart of God day and night, as in the parable told by Jesus in Luke 18.

Lord Jesus, may my devotion to the Rosary and the ceaseless intercession of Mary Your Mother, bring me closer to God and His Kingdom.  Amen.      By B

devotion-meditation-Rosary

“And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words.”  Matt 6:7 (NIV)

2 thoughts on “My Devotion … My Prayer

  1. Thank you for sharing this truth. Praying and meditating on the Rosary completely changed my faith life. Our Blessed Mother is leading me closer and closer to her son. What a beautiful gift we have been given…a beautiful and powerful prayer of love.

    I hope you don’t mind if I share how I was drawn to the rosary.

    https://somebodylovesmeblog.wordpress.com/about/

    May God continue to bless you and your family,
    Bernadette

    Like

    1. Peace Bernadette,
      Thanks for sharing your story, it’s amazing. My wife read it earlier on and I have just read it too. Please remember us when you pray the Rosary as we pray for you too. May the Lord bless you and your family abundantly.
      B & R

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

