Tomorrow is Today

Watercolor-aged-womanWhat if tomorrow never comes?  How will I live today? Words kept flowing through my mind as I walked the familiar path home from Church after my prayer yesterday….

I would wake up earlier than ever to catch the first ray of sunlight that brightens the day

I would look out for the morning sunbird that chirps happily as it feeds on the nectar from our yellow bell plants

I would watch as the wind blows the dried leaves rustling past me and try to catch the leaves as they fall

I would throw off my sandals, feel the soft grass under my feet and run freely on the fields

I would gaze into the sky, see the clouds roll by and be filled with awe by the One up there

I would listen and try to make sense of the multitude of noises that surround me

I would yearn to hear the Voice of the One who called me by name

I would whisper more ‘I love you’ as I gaze tenderly upon the faces of the ones I love

I would stretch out my hands to hold and hug those who have walked with me along the path of my life

Yes, when there is no tomorrow, i would have lived differently today.

My 90 year old mother-in-law, who is wheelchair-bound, living in a nursing home, would have yearned to live differently too.                    By R

“So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”    Matt 6:34  (NASB)

3 thoughts on “Tomorrow is Today

  1. That’s wonderful work you’re doing! Taking care of our mums has taught us much about appreciating the life that God has blessed us. May God bless you in all that you do for Him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

