The Morning Glory

Unlike the Morning Glory, which blooms early in the morning and gives first glory to its Creator, the first ‘person’ we greet ‘good morning’ may very well be our smart-phone. And we can’t leave home without it.

My husband and the children still need to remind me whenever i go out alone not to forget to bring my mobile phone, which i often do. Clearly, i have not gotten attached to it. Yet. 

Some years ago, i had a dream where i felt the oppression of evil around me and i was trying hard to fend them off. Suddenly, i saw that i was holding a small box in my left hand and a slim black object in my right. The object in my right hand resembled my old, hardy, black-metallic nokia phone (with call/sms functions only).

Puzzled, i brought it to the Lord in prayer.

Strangely, God made me recall the time i worked in a travel agency where we had a direct hotline to an oil rig firm. The secretary could just pick up her company line and our phone would ring, and she would instantly rattle off all the flights and dates to be booked for the crew change. I recalled how i used to shudder whenever i had to answer the phone because she was impatient, hot-tempered and refused to repeat anything she said. Even our managers would dash across the room to pick up this special ringing phone – that was how important the client was to us.

Some time later, the Lord revealed this to me – my phone signifies my prayer hotline to God. (Once, when i was in desperation, i actually sent a message to God on my phone.) In prayer, i have a direct hotline to God, He will always answer me, though not necessarily in the way i want. Similarly, when He calls, i should always answer immediately, “Yes, Lord”, just like Samuel did in the Bible.       By R

Then Eli realized that the Lord was calling the boy. So Eli told Samuel, “Go and lie down, and if he calls you, say, ‘Speak, Lord, for your servant is listening.’ ”       1 Samuel 3:8-9  (NIV)

5 thoughts on “The Morning Glory

  1. Simply beautiful, Renee. Morning glories have always been one of my favorite flowers. When I was a child, they grew in so many places. I don’t see them as often now. I miss that.

    I used to work with a lady who greeted people with “Morning, Glory.” Lovely huh?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Linda! Your last sentence really made me smile 🙂 I spotted some morning glories on a school fence last week while on my way to church. Praise be to God!

      Like

    1. Thank you Laura! Actually, if you look closely, you will see many glaring mistakes such as the unpainted flower bud etc. Haha. I only realised them after i took photos of it, but decided to post it first and do the corrections later.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

