The Wilderness

Come back to me with all your heart, don’t let fear keep us apart……The wilderness…will lead you…to your heart…where I will speak – a song based on the book of Hosea is my inspiration for this painting.

Before His ministry, Jesus was led by the Spirit into the wilderness where He fasted for 40 days and was tempted by the devil three times. Throughout His ministry, Jesus often slipped away into the wilderness to pray. Elijah went into the wilderness and later encountered God (1 Kings 19). John the Baptist preached in the wilderness of Judea (Matt 3). The wilderness was where they experienced God and were empowered for His work.

No one enjoys a desert experience by choice. Circumstances and events in our lives can sometimes drive us into the wilderness, into the desert where we may feel loneliness, despair and even the absence of God.

There are events in my life that may be considered as ‘desert’ experiences and they continue to expose my inner hidden vices or virtues, test my proclaimed faith in Jesus, and enable me to discover the real ‘me’.       By R

“Therefore I am now going to allure her; I will lead her into the wilderness and speak tenderly to her. ”  Hosea 2:14 (NIV)

2 thoughts on “The Wilderness

Leave a Reply

