On the Other Side

Bridge to openToday marked the 25th anniversary of my second brother’s death. He was a school teacher in his forties, active and healthy. He had been married only a few years before he died and life to him was about learning new things and having new adventures. But on that unforgettable night, he went to sleep and never got up. The Lord took him on the feast of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross, which happens to be today.

Fast-forward 25 years – my eldest sister passed away 2 weeks ago, on the day we celebrate the Martyrdom of St John the Baptist. Again, she went to the Lord in her sleep, the same way my brother did.

My thoughts and prayers are with my siblings.

Although I’ve learnt to say the Nunc Dimittis during night prayer before sleeping everyday and repeating Simeon’s words (Luke 2:29–32) to prepare my soul to meet the Lord, I still know that I am not ready. There is a long list of things I have to do before meeting the Lord. There are apologies that I have yet to make; people I have yet to pardon; love that I have not given or spoken. The list just goes on, it is endless.

Jesus said: ““Therefore keep watch, because you do not know the day or the hour.” Matt 25:13 (NIV)

Pushing my pride aside, I know that I have to start today, this hour. To give love. To bring joy. To offer peace. To my family, and to those who cross my path. So that when I call “Lord, Lord”, Jesus will open the door for me.       By B

7 thoughts on “On the Other Side

  1. Ben,
    I was wondering where this photograph is taken. Did you take it? It’s amazing. Your words touched me too. So sorry to hear you have lost two siblings at young adult ages. Yes, we must be ready to meet our maker, but we will all leave unfinished business behind. Just keep praying, praising, and living as a Christian every day. The door will open for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

