Glory and Haze

This Beach Morning Glory creeps along the beach in all directions, so much so that it is not easy to trace the main plant and its roots. This is rather like my mind, running in all directions, getting distracted and side-tracked, that I occasionally forget the very Source of my life – God. This happens at prayer, while doing my art and, in fact, just about everything else in my daily life.

I find that ever too often I have to keep reminding myself to refocus on the real purpose in my life. Be it praying, painting or everything else i do, am i doing this for myself,  for the good of others or simply for the love of God?

Jesus reminds me, “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” Once I forget the Source of my life, I will become like that twig on the beach – withered, never to grow or bear flowers again.

In recent weeks, our skies have been enveloped in a perpetual haze due to the forest fires from a neighbouring country . Now the first thing we ask upon waking up is “What’s the PSI now?”  We diligently check the haze level at every hour to decide if we should close the windows or don face masks to go out. There are days when the skies clear due to the winds changing or the rain, but all of a sudden, there’s a spike again. Sometimes, it goes up to very unhealthy or even hazardous levels.

It is only now that we realise how we have taken the very air that we breathe for granted. Yes, God is surely the Source and the very Breath of our lives.     By R

“Behold, You have made my days as handbreadths, And my lifetime as nothing in Your sight; Surely every man at his best is a mere breath.”   Psalm 3:5   (NASB)

2 thoughts on “Glory and Haze

Leave a Reply

