Jonah’s worm

Then the Lord God arranged that a castor-oil plant should grow up over Jonah to give shade for his head and soothe his ill-humour (Jonah 4).

Leaf with holesWhenever I look at this old photo, it brings a smile to my face. I am reminded of that castor-oil plant that delighted Jonah so much but was attacked by the worm and finally withered.
It was as if God had no other prophet but Jonah to relate His warning to the people of Nineveh. He had been hunted down by God to carry out that catastrophic message, and no one could blame Jonah for sulking when whatever he had said failed to happen. Where could he hide his face? In the end, it is between the prophet’s pride and God’s mercy.

This is similar to the times when God through His Spirit nudges me to act and I will play deaf, excuse myself or recommend someone else instead, just to evade from the responsibility. Without a doubt, my pride has deterred me much from showing love and mercy to others. Sulking and self-pitying have prevented me from receiving much Joy from fulfilling His Will.

Dear Lord, teach me humility and humour in whatever I do and find Peace and Joy in responding to Your call. Amen.     By B

4 thoughts on “Jonah’s worm

    1. No Linda, it is not, castor oil plant is much shorter than this tree. I only found it amazing to see so many holes on the leaves. You can even see the blue sky through these holes if you zoom in.
      Yes, God knows us better than we know ourselves.
      Ben

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

