Where are the fishermen?

This unfinished painting was started three days before mum was hospitalised. I did not look at it since then, what with all the crises which escalated as well as the aftermath of her passing. This morning, while at prayer, i felt this quiet prompting “paint while you can, when you can, for it is I who paint through you when you are handicapped.”

As my eyes linger on all the beautiful artwork on WP, i felt inspired again to continue to paint what i can, despite my poor vision. Not so detailed, far from good and definitely not perfect, but isn’t painting for the love of God what inspired me to pick up watercolour in the first place?

I had wanted to try bigger pieces and attempt plein air painting this year, but no, my ways are not God’s ways. It is not a coincidence that a small simple piece of my artwork was chosen for an exhibition nor is it a coincidence that I can no longer do close work for long hours without getting headaches or my eyes hurting from the glare of bright lights. Perhaps God is telling me to keep my paintings small and simple, and reminding me to remain humble and obedient to His promptings.

Looking again at my unfinished painting, it looks rather desolate and forlorn to me at the moment. That must have been the feeling of Peter and Andrew who, though experts, had caught nothing despite fishing and fishing all night. Until Jesus came into their lives and said,

“Put out into the deep water and let down your nets for a catch….  Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men.”  Luke 5:4,10 

By R

 

8 thoughts on “Where are the fishermen?

    1. Linda, i deeply appreciate your encouraging words. Sometimes it can be difficult to put out into deep waters when we don’t know just how deep the waters are. In times like these, i need to pray ‘Lord, help my little faith.” Thank you for all your prayers. God bless you Linda!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry Steve for the late reply. Don’t know why your comment went into our spam. I’ll try to paint, though i have yet to pick up my brush. I am praying n asking Him what to paint. Thank you for your encouragement.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Your work is beautiful.
    Have you seen a spiders web with dew on it in the morning? It glistens like diamonds. Small or large are both beautiful to Jehovah and the discerning eye

    Like

Leave a Reply

