Truly forget-Me-not?

Forget me notThis is my attempt to paint what the Lord told me in my previous post. It’s not easy to paint something i am not familiar with, besides having to struggle with my blurry vision. The spirit is willing but, alas, the flesh is weak.

I have always been in awe of God’s miracles, and i am still dumbfounded by what He does in the most unusual circumstances.

God is the one who had inspired me in my prayer to pick up watercolour painting, a medium which is both new and very challenging for me, even until today. All i ever wanted was to paint whatever He inspired me, and hopefully to share with others the joy and beauty that i find in His wonderful creations.

Never in my wildest dreams did i ever anticipate anything more. But He led me to my first teacher-cum-students exhibition and, subsequently, being accepted into a watercolour society through my mentor’s recommendation.

In October last year, there was a call for local artists to submit artworks for an inaugural Christian art exhibition, with half of the proceeds from sales going towards promoting Christian art. After much deliberation and prayer, i submitted a small art piece just before my mum’s hospitalisation. With all the subsequent crises that escalated and the aftermath of her passing, i had forgotten all about it.

Two weeks ago, i learnt that i was granted acceptance for the exhibition. I was more than happy to fulfill my dream to share with others about Christ through my painting.

At last Friday’s inaugural launch, i was surprised to learn that it was the first piece to be sold! Then last Sunday, i learnt that another buyer was interested in the very same painting.

Why?

I don’t know. I don’t even know if i can paint as well as before now that i am struggling with my poor vision. I don’t understand God’s ways. And i never will.  But i know that if i take up my cross and follow Him, He will lead the way.       By R

“If anyone wants to be a follower of mind, let him renounce himself and take up his cross every day and follow me.”   Luke 9:23  (JB)

7 thoughts on “Truly forget-Me-not?

  1. So happy that you painted the Forget-me-Not and I’m especially happy that your painting sold and another order has been placed! God has more in store for you. Maybe the Touch-me-Not and Forget-Me-Not could sell as a pair.

    I hope you can find a treatment or cure for your vision problems too!

    Like

    1. Thank you Linda, you have always been so encouraging to me! The truth is i don’t and i can’t paint the same thing twice as i can only paint when i feel inspired. I didn’t expect the painting to sell, so it’s truly a bonus from God. God is good! He always is, and i pray He’ll heal my vision problems too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

