You are my hiding place

“Ben, we are going to lay-off three staff members,” my boss said in a matter-of-fact manner while having lunch with me the other day.

I’ve known for awhile now that things are not going as smoothly as planned in the company, and the economy of the region is not optimistic.  Sacking workers is natural and a knee-jerk reaction for small organisations when times are rough.

It is just like this small boat in danger of sinking amidst a storm.  The logical thing to do is to throw heavy loads overboard to lighten the weight and try to stay afloat.

bum-boat

The news of the lay-off weighed down on me so much for several days that Renee had to take over the last WordPress post from me.  Although I did not expect this job that I took up six months ago to be a permanent one, it still took me by surprise that this boat hit troubled waters so quickly. Worries about livelihood, being jobless, and having to job-hunt again suddenly engulfed my mind.

Worries paralyzed thinking, creativity and getting my job done. So I just have to put my worries into the hands of the Lord.  While writing this post, the song – “You are my hiding place” is playing in the background.

You are my hiding place
You always fill my heart
With songs of deliverance
Whenever I am afraid
I will trust in You

I believe the Lord is reassuring me and wanting me to trust in Him in whatever storm in life that I may be facing.             By Ben

3 thoughts on “You are my hiding place

  1. Hang in there the best you can, Ben, and don’t let the worry affect your work. That’s the last thing you want! Just do your job to the best of your ability and pray to the Lord for help and comfort. Things are already in His hands, as are all situations in this world! He will decide the outcome of your situation according to His will and what’s ultimately what is best for you.

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

