Do not Erase

Erasers B 185714
[ Countries on erasers are randomly selected from our follower base]
Who would think that a pile of erasers could provide such fun? Whoever came up with the idea of producing these erasers in the old days must be ingenious. Back then, my friends and i didn’t use them for erasing. We hoarded them like treasures. Our goal? To collect all the countries, especially our country. The ultimate prize? The United Nations eraser.

Every piece of eraser was hard-earned by scrimping on the pocket money we had for recess or by exchanging them with those who had the countries we wanted. Better still, we could play a simple game of deftly flipping one’s eraser right on top of the opponent’s to win his eraser and add it to our collection. The boys loved playing the country eraser battle. As for me, it was just fun to collect the pretty erasers, but being poor, i only managed to collect some pieces which i kept for a long time. Years later , i had to reluctantly throw them away when they got stuck together and their colours were ruined.

Once, when i was a child-care teacher in a centre for single-parent families, i saw a boy fiddling about and not paying attention in class. As i walked over to check, i became awestruck as i stared at the creation on his table. He had cut up his brand new little eraser into tiny bits and pieces and, with the aid of staple bullets, he had created a cute movable robot! Instead of reprimanding him, i was filled with praises for his talent and creativity. His late father, a fireman who fell to his death while going down a fire pole, would have been proud of him.

Simple games, simple pleasures, great ingenuity. Poverty begets creativity. There were few toys back then and even if there were any, not many could afford them.

But now that we can afford more things, we never seem to be contented.       By Renee

But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that. Those who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction.”   1 Tim 6:6-9  (NIV)

12 thoughts on “Do not Erase

  1. Renee,
    This is so interesting! I love the creativity and playfulness seen on this post. May I have permission to share it at my blog? Would you allow me to share it on Facebook? I want to honor your wishes. I’ll understand if you would prefer that I not do this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Finding pleasure in the simple joys is the key to happiness! When the Lord fills our hearts, He opens our eyes and hearts in a more deeper way, to the everyday beauty:-) Thanks for sharing!
    Bernadette

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sarah! I suddenly remembered the little boy in the midst of writing this post. I do wonder too. He was a quiet and timid boy, but really creative. I just couldn’t forget him and his tiny robot. Renee

      Like

  3. Hi Renee,
    I found out about your blog from my friend Linda Andersen. I had never heard of the eraser game nor have I ever seen these beautiful erasers. I loved the story about the young boy and your Bible verse tied in with your post beautifully. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice knowing you Tracy! Linda is truly God-sent and a great support to our blog. It was fun collecting the erasers. I had intentionally left out the country names in my painting to see if anyone could identify the flags. 😉 I think God made me recall the boy and his eraser to remind me to be simple, creative and contented. Thanks Tracy!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

