Some see stars, i see polka dots

I have been swatting away flies from my face, sweeping away ants on the table and wiping away dirt on my art paper. Until i realised that they were just part of the hundreds of dots in my right vision. But I do still forget sometimes. Besides these, there are other squiggly floaters around caused by the retina tear, especially one that’s smack right in the centre of my vision.

My daughter: Mum, why don’t you paint what you see in your right vision since we can’t visualise what you are describing?

And so i did:

R Right Vision 161407

Son: That’s so scary.

Ben: So artistic!

Son: Not when you are constantly seeing this…

Ben: True! But it’s such a nice painting. It’s abstract!

Daughter: !?

Me: …

With my current slightly blurred vision in my left eye and hundreds of polka dots blurring my right, i am having a difficult time seeing, reading and, sadly, painting too. Sometimes, i wish i had been more dedicated and painted more when my sight was still good. Now, i have to take it easy and slow down.

There’s a lovely prayer i say almost every night to St Lucy (Patron Saint of eye diseases):

“St Lucy, preserve the light of my eyes so that i may see the beauties of creation, the glow of the sun, the colour of the flowers and the smile of children.”

It is a heartfelt prayer as i have been painting all the above for the past few years.

But i also do believe that:

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  Rom 8:28  (NIV)

In God, i continue to trust.       By Renee

R Left Vision 164733

6 thoughts on “Some see stars, i see polka dots

  1. I understand what you are going through. Several years ago, after a return flight from England, I started seeing these dots. At first I thought they were fleas or something, then my wife wondered what I was swatting at. Trip to the eye doctor and, yes, floaters, and signs of a mild retinal detachment. No surgery needed, and the detachment resolved, but the floaters are there, little reminders of an unexplainable event.

    Like

    1. Thank you for sharing your personal experience. It’s comforting to know that i am not alone, especially swatting at flies. Just the other day, i mistook a real housefly on my noodle for an eye floater. I was happily eating until my daughter asked me why i didn’t chase it away. I can only pray that my floaters will diminish. It is indeed God’s blessing that you did not require surgery.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Continue to pray to God, for only He is worthy of prayer and has the power to answer our requests! Good luck with your vision, I know it must be a real trial…

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

