Stop Swimming

Koi 164625

Fishes, especially the Koi, are colourful and beautiful. Painting them is quite a challenge. Firstly, the moving water makes it difficult to capture them, and secondly, they do not stay still long enough for you to take a good photo. I ended up painting them using several photos as reference.

My mind is somewhat like that. It cannot keep still even when i’m praying. Before God can put in a word to me, my mind is off to something and everything else but Him. And i do have a long prayer ‘shopping list’ – the world, my country, the Church, my family, friends, our blog….

This morning, as i walked home from church, my usual habit was to pray as i walk along, looking at everything that He has created.

But all He said was “Be still …. and listen.” Not once, but twice. Inwardly.

How appropriate. It’s Lent.       By Renee

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.   Psalm 46:10  (NIV)

Leave a Reply

